

ECET Summit April 22, 2025 Energy Growth & Decarbonization

Time	Tonio	Speakers & Moderators
	Topic	Breakfast and Registration
8:00 - 8:50 AM	Breakfast	
9:00 AM	Introduction	Dr. Marsha H. Ershaghi Senior Advisor Tapestry Networks, Independent Board Member, Adjunct Professor of Management and Organization, USC
9:05 AM	ECET in 2024	Dr. Iraj Ershaghi Executive Director ECET, Omar B. Milligan Chair & Director of the Petroleum Engineering Program, USC
9:10 AM	Energy Engineering	Dr. Andrea Hodge Fluor Professor in Engineering & Chemical Engineering, Materials Science, & Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, USC
9:20 AM	Looking Ahead	Dr. Yannis C. Yortsos Zohrab A. Kaprielian Dean's Chair in Engineering & Chester Dolley Professor of Chemical & Petroleum Engineering, USC
9:30 AM	Al and Energy Requirements	Dr. Massoud Pedram Charles Lee Powell Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, USC Moderator: Dr. Donald Paul Executive Director, Energy Institute & William M. Keck Professor of Energy Resources & Research Professor of Engineering, USC
10:00 AM		Francisco Leon President & CEO California Resources Corporation
10:10 AM	A New Energy Path for the 21 st Century	Dr. Scott Tinker
		CEO Energy Corps, Chairman Switch Energy Alliance, CEO Tinker Energy Associates, Director Emeritus Bureau of Economic Geology
		Moderator: Francisco Leon President & CEO California Resources Corporation



10:40 AM	BREAK	
	Group Speaker Photo	All speakers gather at front for a group photo.
11:00 AM	The Role of International Energy Companies in Energy Transition	Musabbeh Al Kaabi Chief Executive Officer, Upstream, ADNOC
		Moderator: Dr. Marsha H. Ershaghi
11:30 AM	Energy Resource Investments	Mr. Brian Singer Managing Director, Global Head GS SUSTAIN, Goldman Sachs
		Moderator: Mr. Gary Buntmann Executive Chairman, Co-founder Crimson Resource Management
12:00 PM		Mr. Gary Buntmann
	ECET Awards:	Marisa Hamsik
	Daneshy Award	General Manager, Strategy & Market Insights for Offsets & Emerging Technologies
	Fissell Award	Chevron New Energies
		Dr. Iraj Ershaghi
12:30 PM	Lunch Buffet	
12:30 PM 12:30-1:30PM	Lunch Buffet Poster Session	Dr. Fokion Egolfopoulos William E. Leonhard Professor of Engineering, Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, USC
		William E. Leonhard Professor of Engineering,
		William E. Leonhard Professor of Engineering, Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, USC Dr. Stephen B. Cronin
		William E. Leonhard Professor of Engineering, Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, USC Dr. Stephen B. Cronin Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, USC Dr. Aiichiro Nakano Professor of Computer Science, Physics & Astronomy, &
		William E. Leonhard Professor of Engineering, Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, USC Dr. Stephen B. Cronin Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering, USC Dr. Aiichiro Nakano Professor of Computer Science, Physics & Astronomy, & Biological Sciences, USC Dr. Zhenglu Li Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials



Dr. Birendra Jha

Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science & Civil & Environmental Engineering, USC

Dr. Kristian Jessen

Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, USC

Dr. Jay H. Lee

Choong Hoon Cho Chair & Professor of Chemical & Materials Science, Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, & Industrial & Systems Engineering, USC

Dr. Theo T Tsotsis

Robert E. Vivian Chair in Energy Resources & Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, USC

Dr. Surya Prakash

George A. & Judith A. Olah Nobel Laureate Chair in Hydrocarbon Chemistry & Professor of Chemistry & Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, USC

1:30 PM Subsurface Carbon Dioxide Injection

Dr. Jay H. Lee

Dr. Behnam Jafarpour

N.I.O.C Fellow & Professor of Chemical Engineering & Materials Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Civil & Environmental Engineering, USC

Dr. Akhil Datta-Gupta

Regents Professor, University Distinguished Professor and Peterson '36 Chair, Petroleum Engineering Texas A&M University

Moderator: Ms. Elena Melchert President of Energia Consulting LLC

2:15 PM Role of Hydrogen

Dr. Christine Ehlig-Economides

Professor, Hugh Roy & Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair, University of Houston

Mr. Amer Khan

Expert Reservoir Engineer at Pacific Gas & Electric Company



Dr. Steve Nutt

Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, USC

Moderator: Dr. Eric R. Upchurch

Chevron Fellow and Sr. Principal Advisor

3:00 PM	Break	
3:15PM	Decarbonization	Dr. Arthur (Trem) Smith Managing Partner, TS&J Energy
		Ms. Denise Owusu Decarbonization Manager, Motive Power Inc
		Mr. Mark Ver Hoeve President, Quandary Geoscience LLC
		Moderator: Dr. Donald Paul Executive Director, Energy Institute & William M. Keck Professor of Energy Resources & Research Professor of Engineering, USC
4:00PM	Developing Inclusive STEM Pathways: Inspiring the Next Generation of Innovators	Mr. Warner Williams CEO, Warner M. Williams LLC
		Jim Crompton Reflections Data Consulting LLC
		Mr. Mike Hauser OpsPathways, LLC
		Moderator: Mr. Lamont Hames CEO, LMH Strategies, Inc
4:50pm	Wrap Up and Closing	Dr. Marsha H. Ershaghi